Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi
Communities
Schools

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:


Ministry of Education.

Contact us

Local Ministry offices
For queries related to PB4L training opportunities in your region, please email your local Ministry office.

PB4L@education.govt.nz
For all other queries or for further information and guidance on PB4L initiatives, contact us via email.

Support material

For more information on Incredible Years Autism for parents, download a poster and brochure (for parents of children aged two to five on the autism spectrum).

Incredible Years Parents Poster (PDF, 166 KB)

Incredible Years Parents Brochure (PDF, 1 MB)

Incredible Years: Autism Program Parent Reflections (2014) (10 minutes) – parents share how the programme has been useful.

The Incredible Years Autism (for parents)

What is the Incredible Years Autism programme (for parents)?

The Incredible Years Autism is a 14 session, group-based programme for parents of children aged 2–5 on the autism spectrum. By supporting the skills and confidence of the key adults in the lives of children on the autism spectrum, it aims to promote children’s emotional regulation, positive social interactions, language development and relationships with others.

The programme covers:

  • Child-directed narrated play promotes positive relationships
  • Pre-academic and persistence coaching promotes language development and school readiness
  • Social coaching promotes friendship skills
  • Emotion coaching promotes emotional literacy
  • Pretend play promotes empathy and social skills
  • Promoting children’s self-regulation skills
  • Using praise and rewards to motivate children
  • Limit setting and behaviour management. 

Incredible Years Autism programmes are available in the following regions:

  1. Whangarei
  2. Auckland
  3. Tauranga
  4. Napier
  5. Wellington
  6. Nelson
  7. Christchurch
  8. Invercargill

What is involved?

Parents and caregivers meet for 2.5 hours each week, over a period of 14 weeks, to explore parenting strategies. The programme is highly interactive, collaborative and self-directed, and driven by the child’s developmental abilities and goals.

How to access the programme

Region
Provider name
Provider contact details
Whangarei Ministry of Education Eileen Turner
Eileen.Turner@education.govt.nz
Auckland Ohomairangi Trust

Ella Smith
021 248 1748
Ella.Smith@ohomairangi.co.nz

OR

Lynaire Doherty
021 944 498
lyn.doherty@ohomairangi.co.nz

Tauranga Te Whānau Kotahi Gill Duncan
07 571 4768
gilld@twk.org.nz
Napier Napier Family Service Centre Heather Osborne
Heather.o@napierfamilycentre.org.nz
Napier Ministry of Education Maria Boolieris
06 831 0638
Maria.Boolieris@education.govt.nz
Wellington Incredible Families Jane Dunbier
027 418 2671
jane@edresources.co.nz
Nelson Motueka Family Service Centre Blyda Mackey
03 528 0234
Blyda.mfsc@xtra.co.nz
Christchurch Presbyterian Support Upper South Island Janice Huddy
03 363 8214
janiceh@psusi.org.nz
Invercargill Family Works Southland Margaret Whittington
03 211 8240
MWhittington@familyworkssld.nz

Return to top ^


Footer: